WhatsApp has said that it can still accept updates after May 15.
Also, you can export your chat history on your Android smartphones and iPhones and download a report from your account before May 15. If you plan to delete your account on iPhone, Android or KaiOS, WhatsApp has pointed out that it is irreversible. WhatsApp will erase your message history will be erased, you will be removed from all WhatsApp groups, and your WhatsApp backup will also be deleted. Since the process is irreversible, WhatsApp expects you to "reconsider."
The messaging app is adding some new features that will help users understand the new policy and dispel misinformation about it, including an in-app banner and status updates.