Tokyo 2020: Mirabai’s silver, disappointing moment, nail-biting comebacks, Day 1's highlights
Tokyo Olympics 2020
The opening day of the Tokyo Olympics saw 37 medals won, across various countries.
Medal on Day 1
Thanks to Mirabai Chanu, India now have won a medal on the opening day of the Summer Olympics for the very first time.
Disappointing loss
Shooting duo of Abhishek Verma and Saurabh Chaudhary came into Tokyo 2020 as India’s medal prospects. While No. 1 Verma failed to make it to the final, 19-year-old Chaudhary finished 7th in the Men’s 10M Air Pistol Final.
Medals table
With 4 medals (3 Gold and 1 Bronze), China have grabbed the most number of medals so far, ahead of South Korea (3 medals: 1 Gold and 2 Bronze).
Moment of the Day
Mirabai Chanu’s silver medal win was easily the highlight of the day as she became India’s first silver medalist weightlifter in Olympics.
India’s Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Reddy were 19-16 down in the decider game of their opening fixture of badminton’s Men’s doubles event. The Indian duo went on to win the final game 25-27 and eliminated their South Korean opponents, who rank No. 3 in the world.
After being 3-1 down, India’s table tennis player Sutirtha Mukherjee went on to win her first round 4-3 against Sweden’s Linda Bergstrom.
Team India on Day 1
The Indian athletes participated in as many as 10 events on Day 1.
Team India’s highlights of Day 1
Hockey: Men’s team defeated NZ 3-2, women’s team lost 5-1 to Netherlands
Archery: Mixed team of Deepika and Pravin lost in quarters to South Korea
Shooting: India failed to win any medal in men’s 10m air pistol and women’s air rifle
Boxing: Vikas Krishnan lost Round of 32 in 63-69kg
Team India’s highlights of Day 1
Table Tennis, Singles: Manika Batra and Sutirtha Mukherjee won their respective first round
Table Tennis, Mixed Doubles: Kamal Achanta and Manika Batra lost Round of 16
Badminton, Men’s Doubles: Satwiksairaj Reddy and Chirag Shetty won their Group A game
Badminton, Men’s singles: Sai Praneeth lost his Group D game
Tennis, Men’s singles: Sumit Nagal defeated Denis Istomin in the first round